The semester starts today for me, and it should prove to be a daunting one: 18 credit hours, plus a writing internship in an honors freshman comp (CWRR – Critical Writing, Reading, and Research) class. Because this semester is a mad rush to get all of my required courses before student teaching this spring. (Tuesdays for me are the worst: a straight run from 9:30 to 7:30 with only 10-15 minutes between classes. It will be interesting, to say the very least.)

Blogging has been sporadic here, but I intend to correct that, at least over here. (The Christian Cynic may see less writing simply because my focus this semester is teaching.) Since I’ll be doing quite a bit of teaching, both as a TA for the writing course and in the middle school and high school classrooms where I’ll be doing my student teaching, I need to start forming good reflective habits, and that’s what this blog is about.

Right now, this blog is a good opportunity to reflect on a question that will be posed in today’s CWRR class: the difference between an oral and literate/written culture. This blog would have no purpose in an oral culture, obviously, and doesn’t that leave a gap? Isn’t there a sense in which these thoughts and reflections would be irretrievably lost because they would be left to memory, and memory might not esteem them high enough to keep among the host of other things that have priority? I think this is likely the case, and it is interesting to me that writings like this from ancient times did make into writing even when the cultures themselves were primarily oral – despite Plato’s musing in the Phaedrus, writing has been a great medicine (pharmakon) for curing a lot of what ails the creativity of man, and I think reflective writing is a perfect example.

How do you think writing brings significant advances (or maybe even obstacles)?

