As I begin to think more about this new year, full of new things happening, I have decided to make a commitment for the upcoming year – well, at least the first part of it. I am going to attempt to blog every day of my student teaching, starting January 5 and extending through April (I’m unsure of the ending date at present). I will also make an effort to blog on my “off days” as well, but the base commitment will be to blog every day that I teach.

I fully recognize that this may be a difficult goal to keep – who has the time to blog every day? – but I’m convinced that blogging will be good for a number of reasons: 1) it will help me get my thoughts out in a relatively safe place, where I know I’m writing for me but within reasonable confines; 2) it will discipline me to reflect on my teaching every day I do it; and 3) it should help my writing, which is in constant need of cultivation. There are probably other good reasons – like being able to voice concerns with the student teaching experience in hopes that other teachers can commisserate and maybe even offer suggestions – but these will suffice.

It will also help boost the volume of this blog, which really needs more content.

We’ll see how it goes. I’ll be watching my boys a fair amount of time after school, probably, so it will be a challenge, but I need to keep up. If you have any advice or want to send encouragement, drop me a line.

