Isn’t the story of being a teacher?

Today was crazy – my first day of having all of my classes, including the eighth graders – and I want to talk about it, but I’m afraid that I’m running on borrowed time. I have approximately 50 sets of note cards and source cards to grade tonight – because I promised to have them back to the seniors by tomorrow – and there are about 30 cards per set. In addition, I have to do my normal planning, now three preps, plus extra planning for the juniors since I’m being observed tomorrow (yay standards and objectives, etc.). I really don’t know how I’m going to manage it, honestly, but I’ll have to, even if it requires pulling a late night.

So, on that note, I’m off – and hopefully I’ll come back to today’s events tomorrow.

Addendum (2/3, 2:25 am): The grading is finally done, and I’m heading to bed. I really hope this doesn’t set a pattern; I can’t possibly survive on three hours of sleep on any sort of regular basis. Ah, the sacrifices I make – you can bet that my students will be hearing about this for some perspective…

