Yesterday was a crazy day: a full day of school (with 5 classes to teach), and then home to do work, which stretched into the wee morning hours. I stuck it out, though, and I was glad that I had accomplished everything I had promised, despite only getting three hours of sleep last night. (To add insult to injury, I’ve also got a cold, something that is fairly rare for me.)

I got through today, including observation by my university supervisor, and I was pretty satisfied with the results. The seniors are starting to move into the “big picture” part of the paper – outlines, intros later this week, and drafting very shortly thereafter. A lot of the resistance has been to the seemingly trivial assignments – note and source cards – and I think many of the students haven’t had a good perspective on them. That seems to be getting better, and the more I give very clear expectations, the more comfortable they seem to get. (Then again, sometimes my clearest expectations still seem to be misconstrued, for whatever reason. I don’t think it’s me anymore, given that I have seen students disregard or fail to follow instructions that I have repeated over and over until I have surely sounded like a broken record.)

The juniors are on Hawthorne, specifically “The Minister’s Black Veil.” As was intended by Hawthorne, the meaning is still obscured for them, so I hope to help them lift the veil tomorrow.

As for now, I’m off to rest and gather some strength back. At some point, I’ll find more time to engage what’s been happening – but not now, unfortunately. The weary must gather strength, and then we can move forward.

