I have always hated looking for jobs. In high school, I tried to get jobs without success, and to this day, I still don’t know exactly what it was that kept me from getting the jobs (which were menial jobs like fast food) – maybe a lack of confidence, perhaps. I was fortunate enough to get one my freshman year in college by knowing someone, got another by happening to impress the person I interviewed with (who actually became my direct supervisor), and fell onto my longest-running employment (4 years) by going to a temp service that had a job that was almost exactly what I was qualified for.

Then I had to switch industries altogether – customer service for education – and now all of that previous work is largely useless.

Right now, I have no real prospects. I’ve applied to two jobs, both of which fell through. I had to learn one lesson the hard way: don’t delay on sending in jobs. I applied to the second school a few days before the deadline, and when I checked back on the deadline date, I was informed that the position had already been filled. This subsequently caused me to go into panic mode and finish all of my applications for every school within a reasonable range that I will be certified to teach. One of those applications has been received (it was an online application that took me about four hours – no, seriously – to complete), and five more are on their way. I only hope that there’s enough in there to give me a chance at an interview. I am confident that I will be able to impress somebody if I can get an interview, but I have this irrational fear that even that won’t happen. Then where will I be? Signing up to substitute teach, which I will do if things with a full-time position don’t work out.

It’s a frustrating thing, job hunting. I especially worry about the fact that I am a part of what I have heard referred to as one of the largest graduation classes ever (this article says that 1.6 million college degrees will be awarded this year, according to the U.S. College Bureau). I know at least one of the jobs I applied for had an applicant with several years of experience who was re-entering the workforce after some time away, and I worry that in this struggling economy, there will be a lot more former teachers returning to increase overall family wages and some teachers who will drag their feet moving into retirement because of economic woes, all of which will decrease the numbers of jobs available to new teachers like myself who desperately need them to help pay for things like student loans (I think I might have to start paying on mine almost immediately) and, for exceptional cases like me, to support their families. Substitute teaching is an option, but not a very promising one, in my mind. (Someone change my mind in that regard, please?)

Hopefully, some administrator who will receive one of my packets with glowing letters of recommendation, lively resumes, and (hopefully) engaging letters of interest will see some potential in me and give me a chance. Sitting back and waiting for that is the hard part, and unfortunately, it’s about all I can do for now.

