I’m typing this from my new classroom on my own computer (which I finally have access to, thanks to our great tech guy), and my principal tracked me down to inform me that she volunteered me to be on the curriculum planning committee.

Boy, they don’t know the meaning of “trial by fire” around here, do they?

(To be fair, I know why I was put on the committee – I’m the representative of English at the high school level, and English is one of the areas that the school needs to focus on given that our PSAE scores from last year were…well, let’s say that they were lower than hoped. So part of my responsibility is to get students back up to speed on these skills, which means that I probably should be on the curriculum committee.)

On a less sarcastic note, I got the chance to meet a few of my students today (both of whom expressed how awful the last teacher was and how poorly she was treated as a result – good thing the bar isn’t set too high), and the mother of one – somewhat to my amusement – warned me about her own child’s tendency toward dramatic mood shifts. And the phrase I’ve heard so many times in this school – “be strict” – came up again as well.

I think I might need to be strict or something.

One thing’s for sure: This is not likely to be a boring assignment.

