Today was our regional Poetry Out Loud competition, and I’m happy to announce that two of our competitors placed, one the finalist and the other the alternate for the state competition. All four of our students (three competitors and an alternate, who gave the “icebreaker” recitation to start the program) did excellently, and I’m exceedingly proud of them. We got to enjoy dinner together afterwards with a few parents, and it was also nice to get to know some of them as well. (It was a pretty good first parent interaction!)

But now I’m exhausted, and I really don’t have the energy to think back much more. I have planning and grading to do, and things are beginning to pile up. I need to be working ahead, since I’ll start getting research papers starting on Friday, and despite the long weekend, I’ll have a lot of difficulty if I don’t get prepared for the next week with all of that grading that will need to be done. I also have a project from the juniors that was collected last week that I’ve yet to finish doing – it’s really starting to get overwhelming!

Regardless, though, I’m glad to have had this experience today. The contest was an awesome experience, and I was very impressed with all of the performers; I hope this program continues to grow as it has in recent years.

As always, I learned a great deal today, and tomorrow is another chance to put that knowledge into action.

Until then, signing off.

